Aya’s Past Travels

Hello again, it’s Aya (:
So, about my past travels. Luckily I was born to a family where my mother LOVES to travel and having a big family, my relatives live around the world. I guess this was one of the things that allowed me to travel quite a lot as well. Here comes my list:

Japan, Taiwan, France, Guam, UK, Switzerland, Hong Kong, Singapore, Denmark, China and Macau.

No…I have NEVER been to the US…crazy eh? I’m still planning to add more to this list, and the US will definitely be in there soon. I get to intern twice in university and I’m considering somewhere around New York or Boston. But from this list so far, my most memorable journeys were France and Guam.

France

Ever since I was born to until middle school, I visited my Grandmother in France every summer and maybe even spring if I was lucky. When I was small, it had become a sort of tradition to go to France in the summer and then either Taiwan or Hong Kong in the Winter. I used to stay in France for about 2 months each year and I can see that it has influenced my life a lot. By loving France, it made me love Europe and I guess this was one of the factors that influenced me to choose my university.

Tower Eiffel

I used to play around in the garden with my baby brother for most of the day or went to pool parties with my friends there. She lives just outside Paris, so for most evenings we went out to get dinner there. I have several places I love in France and one would definitely be Tower Eiffel. After sunset every day, at each hour Tower Eiffel Sparkles for 5 minutes and as a girl who loved and still loves sparkly and glittery things, I found it the most beautiful moment on earth.

Other places I love are…

Claude Monet’s Garden at Giverny
Every time I visit this place, I can feel how his paintings are alive and its also fun to have some pictures of his paintings and search for the places he actually painted them from.

Monet Garden

Disneyland Paris
I have  confession to make. I absolutely love, love, LOVE, Disneyland. I just love it so much and Disneyland Paris is my favourite out of the all because their castle is pink. Well, I do have more reasons but the castle takes up most of it. Heres my mini fact: The castle in Disneyland Paris is pink because it belongs to Sleeping beauty while the castles in the US and Japan are white because they belong to Cinderella. Pretty right?

Disneyland Paris

France Miniature
France is full of beautiful historical sites and castles but it would be impossible to cover all of them in one trip. But in this amusement park, you can see most of France in a 1/30 scale.

France Miniature

Palace of Versailles
I loved nearly every princess in every Disney movie as a child but having a mother who loves history as well, I was fascinated by real life princesses in history such as Marie Antoinette and Princess Sissi (Empress Elisabeth of Austria). I loved the detailed art and the large gardens. My favourite place in the palace was definitely the hall of mirrors from all the sparkly chandeliers.

Versailles Hall of Mirrors

Louvre Museum
As an art student, this is a place you definitely have to visit when you go to France. Although its way too huge to go through in one day, the art there is amazing and the food court as well.

Pyramid at Louvre Museum

Guam

I’ve only gone to Guam twice in my life, but it never fails to fascinate me. It was the first place I visited that had a clear ocean, and ocean that was literally see through and you could just see the fishes swimming in there. The first time I went there, I spent every single day just playing around at the beach and snorkeling and the second time, mostly shopping.

Hilton Guam

I’d say the best way to spend your time there is stay at the beach until sunset, go shopping in the afternoon if you feel like it and then go for midnight pizza and supermarket shopping at K Mart. I just love K Mart.

Two Lovers Point

Two Lovers Point
This is the only place I went sightseeing in Guam and it was definitely worth the drive. “The Two Lovers Point is a cliffline in Northern Guam and is the site of an ancient Chamorro legend. The legend tells of two lovers who, forbidden from being together in life, leaped to their deaths from the cliffside so they could be together in eternity.” There are all these locks left by couples as a memory and its quite fun to just read some of the promises the couples made (:

Locks

This place is also a famous wedding venue since this cliffline is known as the symbol of eternal love (: A great place to have a wedding for people who love the sea and ancient history!

Beach Wedding Ring

I’d like to write more about my past travels sometime soon but this it for now (: Please feel free to follow our blog and to leave any comments or feedback!

Lots of love,
Aya

Leave a Reply

